Phil – the French Maid Minion from Despicable Me 2

Hiya all…

While, I’m taking a break from editing and sorting out our Europe trip pictures and blogging, I made Phil – the french maid minion – from Despicable Me 2 movie. I didn’t realize that I am obsessed with minions cuteness! Those yellow bright – weird speaking – pill shaped characters caught my heart instantly. Actually, before we went to Europe, I found that Mc Donald’s would have Minions as its Happy Meal Toys! I was super excited and the following day I went directly to McD to check it out. Unfortunately, the toy wasn’t out yet since the movie wasn’t out until early July in Canada. Disappointed, I told my brother to keep an eye as soon as the toys were out hahaha…. Even when me and my husband were in Europe, we kept looking whenever there was a McD nearby. However, I only managed to get 2 of the toys and both were the purple ones – not the cute yellow ones.

Back in Canada, my brother managed to get 3 of the Canadian version minions. Even then, everyday after work, I rushed to any McD I could think of to get the rest of the minions! Luckily, I got them all – except the one I traded with my friend! YAY! When I posted my complete collection on facebook, one of my friends asked me where did I get the purple minion with the hair… I then checked the internet and found out that the purple minion with hair is exclusively available in UK! The next 5 minutes, I went to the nearby McD and got the last purple minion that I missed!Β So yeah… I was happy to have a limited edition of the purple minion! πŸ˜€

Did I mentioned that I have the complete minion set BEFORE I even watched the movie?! Hahaha… I know…. I think I was posessed hahaha…. I did finally watch the Despicable Me 2 movie with my husband and we couldn’t stop singing Banana Song for the whole week πŸ˜› Then, I found a post from AmigurumiPattern.net about French Maid minion free pattern from SweetnCute Creations! I gathered all my yarns (I used Paton Astra) and crocheting tools and made the minion during the long weekend. I did modify the pattern to my liking since I want the minion to be able to stand and I’m not quite understand some parts of SweetnCute Creations’ pattern – no offence. I made the duster using Bernat Boa YarnΒ (Orange Burgundy) that I bought sometimes ago from Michaels to imitate the movie poster. However, my version of Phil is taller than the Happy Meal toys whileΒ SweetnCute Creations’ minion is the same height as the McD ones. So… without further ado… Here’s Phil! πŸ˜€

Phil-blog

For this photo shoot, I even made a DIY light box so that the background can be as white as the poster – well… not quite πŸ˜› Anyway, if you want to have a professional looking shot without spending too much money, you can build a DIY light box from an used cardboard, tissue paper/ white paper for the light window, and white thick paper as the background. I used the instruction from Flax & Twine website. Happy DIY-ing!

M.a.J

2 thoughts on “Phil – the French Maid Minion from Despicable Me 2

  1. Hi, I love your version of the French maid minion. Is it possible to share your adapted pattern and do you take commissions please? I can knit better than crochet so would prefer to purchase one. am toy collector and I love this Minion. Thanks πŸ™‚

    • Hi Bobo… sure, you can buy the pattern for a small fee. However, the pattern is for crochet and you mentioned that you are a knitter. I just want to make sure that you know that crochet is different than knitting. If you’re still interested, you can reply my message.

Leave a Reply

