Chicky Hat

Hiya…

Last week, I visited Vancouver, BC to visit my brother. Although it’s been only 4 months since me and my husband left Vancouver, I never realized how much I miss this city. The first thing I noticed when I got out from the airport arrival terminal was the fresh air in Vancouver! Sure, it was chilly and sunny at the same time, but the mountainous view following me everywhere I go was just simply gorgeous! Since I was visiting alone, I brought some yarns and my trusty 5.0mm crochet hook to fill my spare time.

Recently, my pastor’s daughter gave birth to a baby boy. I decided to make him this Chicky Hat for the upcoming easter holiday. The design was inspired by Jenny and Teddy’s post here. I hope the little baby boy enjoys it 🙂

When I came back to California, I made another version of this Chicky Hat using Loops & Threads’ Kidding Around yarn in Big Bird. The soft yarn is perfect for a newborn or little baby. Crocheting using this specialty yarn was quite challenging. The thread on Kidding Around yarn is so thin, so that it is easy to miss the stitches. For the body & wings of the chick, I doubled the Kidding Around yarn with a yellow plain acrylic yarn. This resulted in bulkier and stiffer finished hat but the acrylic yarn did help me greatly in tracing the stitches. For the trimming of the hat, I used an orange furry yarn that I bought from Daiso and doubled it with an orange acrylic yarn. So, here they are….

Don’t forget to visit my Etsy store: www.etsy.com/craftypeachybunny and like us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/craftypeachybunny 🙂

1 Chicky Hat

Soft Chicky Hat

Cheers,

Meline – Crafty Peachy Bunny

Leave a Reply

